You Can Begin Again: Book Review and Lessons Learnt.

I came across ‘You can Begin Again’ among the resources from a particular squad I belong too in a coaching community. It was such a breath of fresh air to me at that point in time. I have gone ahead to read it all over again since the first time.

You can begin again is a 164 paged book written by Joyce Meyers in the year 2014 published by Hachette Book Group, Inc. It’s a three part book.
The first part is all about new beginnings. In this part you will be learning how to unstuck, get past the past that is holding you back and how it is never too late for you to start over again. I learnt few lessons from this part, which are;

• God doesn’t want me or you stuck: He doesn’t want us helpless without any sense of direction whatsoever.

He doesn’t want us moody, sad, forlorn and distressed about life. He’s put so much abundance for us into the world below and heaven above to tap into.

• Thinking this is happening to me, I am all alone right here with all sorts of thoughts that comes along with it.

2020 was one of the years I opened up myself to been vulnerable and I realized I am not alone, a lot of people are passing through different challenges.

Only the enemy will make me think I am alone and abandoned. When the enemy succeed in tricking your mind to believe this is happening to you, the issue weighs in upon you even more than necessary. 

It consumes our thoughts which then becloud our reasoning and when our reasoning is beclouded we become stuck.

Whatever it is we are experiencing, you and I must know that we are not alone and God has not abandoned us.

•Another thing I learnt is making new decisions, to enter into the new kind of life I want I have to take intentional steps towards it.

Wishing, thinking, imagining, and saying it will not make it happen till I start making decisions in the direction of the new life I want.

But I have spent years living this old life and my brains seems to be able to drive itself in that kind of life. One thing I realized it, I have to make this new decisions upfront without allowing my old wiring and pattern of doing things talk me out of it.

It was difficult at the beginning, unlearning habits, behaviours, catching my own thoughts, coaching my own self and learning the ropes of this new life I so desire.

Because if I want it, I better start acting in the direction.

Part two speaks to what’s stopping us in our track, because a lot of time like Joyce said we are stuck at “GET SET” . We want to move ahead, we have that idea of what we will like to do and ideas are brewing in our heart. We catch a glimpse of that ideal future suited for us but then we get on our mark, get set but when it’s time to go we get immovable.

I learnt from here what stops most of us many times is thinking I don’t have what it takes to do that, I don’t have what it takes to nurture that kind of dream.

But Joyce told us that Christ didn’t only pay the price for our sins, He has bountiful resources in us and those he’s provided for us. He’s going to meet our needs, if we will just commit to our faith and step out.

Stepping out might means different things for each of us but whatever it is for you my dear friend commit to taking that step today.

Identity is another important lesson I learnt. I have come to understand that whatever greatness lies ahead of me and you.

How we see ourselves pertaining to the vastness of our dreams is really important.

Quick gist, I always find it difficult receiving compliments in the past, I didn’t think I was all that, you know, even from those I know won’t flatter me but say the truth.

I didn’t see myself through that lens but as soon as I stepped into the things I believed about myself it’s no longer hard, I embrace it with all smiles.

Now just imagine stepping into that person who is already walking in those things you believe or dream about, visualize yourself in that state, allow yourself feel the emotions connected to them. Believe me its heavenly.

Holding on to that thought, now think about all what the Father in heaven has written and said about you. Immerse yourself in it and see how it changes the way you see yourself.

The last big lesson I learnt is “in the beginning of my new beginning is a journey and there will be challenges along the way”.

I thought I was just going to step into this newness that I want but believe me its been challenging, stretching and a lot of learnings, obstacles to overcome and the hardest of all, the people who are used to the old you that won’t understand this new choices of yours who has to either be loved from a distance or totally outgrow.

I will leave you to discover the lessons in part three, with all I have shared, you should know already if this is a book you should pick up.

I do hope you learnt some lessons amongst the ones I shared. If you are in a low place I hope you receive the strength and courage to begin again.

There is so much on your inside waiting for you to take the first step of several other steps that leads to the top of that ladder.

I love this book a whole lot and the simplicity of the message passed across.

I love the numerous scriptural promises I discovered.

Trust me when I say this book will bless you.🤭

Have you ever had to start again at one point in life?

Will you share some of your life changing decisions you make with us?

How did you navigate those seasons?

Do share with us in the comment section and remember to share the post with your friends.

AYOOLA REBECCA OLAWUMI.

Join my telegram channel here.

Published by mirasbookz

Hello! I am Rebecca a.k.a. Becca/Becky. I am a believer saved by Grace. It's such a honor to have your amazing self here with me and I value your presence. Welcome to Miras! We love you!! Reading and writing reviews became a part of me as I found myself being interested in books generally, gaining more knowledge and insights. However, I stopped reading just any book that came my way when I came to the consciousness of being intentional with my reading, hence, my quest for Christian literature and self development books.

3 thoughts on “You Can Begin Again: Book Review and Lessons Learnt.

  1. I’m glad you are back!🤗

    Thanks for sharing the lessons. I’ve learnt to commit myself to stepping out.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started